http://t.co/X3ErbuOX

Posted: September 21, 2011 in Uncategorized

My talk today is inspired from the link above, which is a story written by my friend. i am not ‘famzing’ here o (i cant believe i actually used that ‘word’, I remember asking someone on twitter what it meant a while back). she actually is and we have this kinda friendship……… I think.
Anyway, back to what I’m trying to say, her story is well written, humorous,and the punch lines are on point for those who actually ‘get’ it, and i just had to say something because i relate to it to an extent. I have a great job……ok, I just exaggerated it. I have a good job even though i like to take it for granted sometimes, I’m 30 and I’m very single.
I remember as a younger girl, each time i told my mum that i didn’t want to get married, or that i wanted to be a single mum, the next thing that came out of her mouth was always a stern ‘don’t be silly!!!’, followed by a 45 minute lecture from the bible, and another 30 minute lecture from life’s experiences and each time before she was halfway through, I had either a Migraine, itchy feet, a full bladder or dry cough or some sort of ailment or dilemma, reminding me why I ever brought up that subject. Anyway, common sense has taught me what and how I relay my causes to my mum.
I am a big believer in love,and I made up my mind long ago not to get married for the wrong reasons, and I still say this, no matter how long it takes, I wont get married because all my mums’ friends kids are getting married, or because all my old classmates already are, or because as ‘they’ say, I’m getting old and I’m like a flower,’ a beautiful flower that its beauty will soon fade’. That, for me, is a classic and who ever tells me that must be raving mad!!!
As I write this, I have butterflies in my tummy because I don’t know what tomorrow holds, but I am looking forward to it. One thing i know is that its not worth keeping up with the Jones, because at the end of the day, only you wears your shoes and only you know where it hurts and how hard it hurts.
All I know is that I’m a smart, sexy, educated 30 year old lady, with dreams that I am still chasing, and an open mind for love and lessons, and a great sense for adventure and no time for conforming.

Comments
  1. BoukkieO says:

    Lovely. I respect your stand and admire your courage. God grant you the grace to reach your dreams..

  2. vanessa says:

    you are so right…ITS THE FACT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!God will grant you ur heart desires…amen

Leave a Reply

